Skip to main content

Student Scholarships

Fargo South

Fargo South High School Scholarships

The Foundation works with donors who have created annual gifts and permanently endowed scholarships for deserving graduates of South High School. If you would like to donate to Fargo South Scholarship opportunities please CLICK HERE.


2023 South Scholarship Recipients

  • Rob Arneson Memorial Scholarship~ Leyah Ward

    Awarded to a well-rounded senior who is serious about pursuing a career in elementary education and who has demonstrated academic success and leadership ability.

  • Vice-Admiral Robert and Sally Baldwin Award~ Dorsa Fereydoonpour

    Awarded to a well-rounded senior and selected on the basis of their academic and leadership talents.

  • Janet D. Beaton Family Scholarship~ Mila Mathern-Jacobson

    Awarded to a Fargo South student who has interest and achievement in the area of visual arts or business.

  • Steven Berrell Memorial Music Scholarship~ Samuel Kain

    Awarded to an academically motivated music student at South High School.

  • Chelsea Brandt Entrepreneurial & Business Scholarship~ Glenelyn Andrin

    The purpose of this scholarship is to encourage and aid students interested in attending college. This scholarship is awarded to an individual interested in an entrepreneurial or business field.

  • Gage Burdick Memorial Scholarship~ Jagger Wraalstad

    Awarded to a student who exhibits concern for others, has enthusiasm for life and is striving for academic and athletic excellence.

  • Fargo South DECA Scholarship~ Mia Aarestad

    Awarded to students who are dedicated to their community and have excelled in their DECA chapter.

  • The Helen Ericson Fossum Literary Scholarship~ William Lacher

    Awarded to a student who is involved in the community and has a love for literature, communications, or the arts.

  • Neil Fredenburg Memorial Scholarship~ Catherine Fehr

    Awarded to a student athlete who strongly displays excellence in the classroom, excellence on the field of play, and possessing a true passion for life.

  • Dr. Roger Goettsch Art Scholarship~ Mila Mathern-Jacobson, Erin Sorum

    Dr. Roger Goettsch taught Art at Fargo South High School for over 30 years. He was a prolific artist, writer, poet, philosopher, and a kind and generous man. This scholarship was established in his memory to support Fargo South art students who have excelled in art and have a desire to learn.

  • Max and Anne Goldberg Scholarship~ Aiden Bourke

    Presented to a student with a strong sense of values, their belief in good citizenship and their commitment to equality for all.

  • Leah Juelke Journey to America Scholarship~ Dorsa Fereydoonpour, Daniel Vu

    Awarded to a Fargo South student whose native language is not English and who is going to pursue a post-secondary degree in any field.

  • Linda Lockwood Memorial Scholarship~ Alexandra Tsanganelias

    Awarded to Fargo South High School senior female student athlete who demonstrates the values that Linda exhibited: fair play and sportsmanship, community involvement, and a passion for life.

  • Sam Neis Memorial Scholarship~ Sierra Martin

    Awarded annually to a Fargo South High School senior female or male athlete. Funded by Sanford Orthopedics and Sports Medicine in memory of Coach Sam Neis.

  • Donovon Nelson Memorial Scholarship~ Jacob Schwengler

    Awarded to a well-rounded senior with good communication skills who is serious about pursuing a career in education, who has demonstrated academic success and leadership ability.

  • Next Grad Scholarship~ Kade Beyer

    This scholarship is presented by NextGrad and is available to a Fargo Davies, North, and South graduating senior pursuing a post-secondary education.

  • Jared Nilles Memorial Scholarship~ Natalie Evensen

    Awarded to a graduating South High senior who was chosen to be in the Donkey Hotey’s Improvisational Club and who has performed in front of a live audience and is actively involved in weekly workshops.

  • Nate Olsby Memorial Scholarship~ Camden Meyers, Drew Shambaugh

    Awarded to a Fargo South High School senior athlete.

  • Rick Pierce/Northland Truss Systems Scholarship~ Braiden McAllister

    Awarded to a senior who is serious about pursuing a career in construction or related industries and who has demonstrated academic success and leadership ability.

  • E.E Simonson Memorial Business and Public Service Scholarship~ Mia Aarestad, William Lacher, Jacob Schwengler

    Awarded to a graduating Fargo South Senior who demonstrates an interest in an entrepreneurial, business, or public service field and intends to pursue a business-related or public service education program at a 4-year post-secondary institution.

  • Lenore and Norman Tenneson Memorial Scholarships~ Catherine Fehr, Jagger Wraalstad

    Awarded to a student who has demonstrated a strong desire to learn and understands the value of education.

  • Patricia Vogel Scholarship~ Felicity Suda

    Awarded to a student who exhibits a zest for life, an interest in the fine arts, and has a sense of fairness.

  • Fargo Area Dollars for Scholars~

    Kade Beyer
    Evan Booth
    Natalie Evensen
    Catherine Fehr
    Michael Grensteiner
    Madelyn Hoss
    Madison Jackson
    Mila Mathern-Jacobson
    Braiden McAllister
    Jacob Schwengler
    Nikoletta Tsanganelias
    Jagger Wraalstad

2022.23 Impacts...Thank You!

  • 21 Innovative Ed, Literacy & Music Grants

    Totaling $50,119

  • 135 Scholarships Funded

    Totaling $132,598

  • 3,500+ Students Receiving Critical Needs Help

    Totaling $162,512

  • Special Projects & Donor Designated Funds

    Funds Raised $157,195

Thank you to our Adopt-A-School Partners!

© 2024 Fargo Public Schools Development Foundation

Powered by Firespring